How To Take Levothyroxine Properly | Best Way To Take Thyroid Medication | When To Take Synthroid



LevothyroxineReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
2 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/11/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I started taking 100mcg 14 years ago at 24 after I had my first child, at first it did help with minimal side effects but after the birth of my second child 3 years ago I had to raise the dose to 112mcg and I am always dizzy always have headaches. I have extremely bad anxiety. It does regulate your thyroid but I really dislike all the side effects

Report
5 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (9/6/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

Went on 50mcg after two years of subclinical hypothyroidism, with symptoms including low energy, chronic fatigue, poor sleep, constipation, and moderate gradual weight gain despite no changes to lifestyle. The first two months were a little rough and I almost quit- my symptoms seemed to get worse for a bit, and I had some blurred vision. But then suddenly on the third month, the side effects dissipated and I had more energy than I've had in years. Since then I've also been steadily losing weight, despite not changing my diet or exercise routine- I've lost 12 lbs in 6 months, and am just 5 lbs shy of my ideal, pre-hypothyroidism weight. My last few blood tests have shown good TSH and T4 levels as well, so it's not just the placebo effect, this drug is actually helping me. Lots of scary stories about this drug out there, but despite a rocky start it ended up working great for me.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/14/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

Have been using Levo for over three year at .05mg, have had no problems or side effects. My blood test readings have consistently stayed in the acceptable range.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (8/1/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I was recently diagnosed with slightly sluggish thyroid and put on 50mg Levo ( Thyrax duo tab). My already anxiety condition got worse. After a few weeks my vision became blurred just thought it was my eyes getting old im 54. Two weeks on I collapsed at work from exhaustion. Breathless and weak. Doctor did complete blood anylse everything normal. I told him maybe the Levo, he said no way. I was in a bad state. Back to doctor. Sent me for lung photo. Showed nothing. He went on holiday for 3 weeks without telling me and the stand in cannot get into my records and told me she cannot give me any refferal and my bloods are fine and wont even give me an appointment. I now have full blown asthma and hay fever symptoms and have to wait 2 more weeks before my doctor is back to try to change the meds.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 6 months ago (5/19/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I hate this drug .I gained 15lbs in a years and been in the darkest place of my life. I've lost jobs and evens my husband from the mental breakdowns .I have no life because I'm always sleeping and the pain in my body is exhausting.i started on 25mg all the way up to 100mg .at the moment I'm at 50mg still the same symptoms but better levels .I really want to detox my body from this drug and start over .see how I feel.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 6 months ago (5/17/2018)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have tried taking Synthroid at 4 different times in the last 10 years for hypothyroid. Every time I start on it, within 2 months I have gained at least 45 pounds. I try to stick with it for at least a year each time but the weight continues to creep up despite eating healthy, small meals and exercising. I take myself off each time and it takes almost 2 years to lose the weight. My dr said my levels weren't normal so that is why I was put on the Levothyroxine. I have never had trouble with my weight and felt great before starting the medication. Even with increasing/decreasing to find a good level, I rapidly gained weight each time and felt awful, while on a medication that is "supposed" to help a sluggish thyroid. If it is supposed to help speed it up, then why do I gain weight and feel awful? I don't know who answered in the FAQ section about it causing weight gain but unless they have been on it themselves, it is not okay to say that it won't or that it won't cause side effects. Maybe some people can take it and feel fine and better but please don't say that this is true across the board.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 16 months ago (7/19/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I was diagnosed with Hashimoto's when I was in the 3rd grade. I started on synthroid at 0.25 mcg. Fast forward, I wasn't responsible with my medication as a teen and young adult. My medication is currently at 0.350 mcg. (I take 2 pills of 0.175) . I finally owned up and started taking my medication as I should. I'm not irritable anymore, I'm losing weight. I don't have a foggy mind, I can concentrate more at work. I don't know if anyone else experiences this, hair loss, dry skin. Things seem to be turning around. I have minimal lightheadedness, I would recommend findings a happy and safe level with an endocrinologist.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 18 months ago (5/19/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have an enlarged thyroid and nodules and my TSH was high. Doc put me on this drug. Oh my good ness....I was light headed, actually felt like I was going to pass out, and having heart palpitations and racing pulse, randomly throughout out the day. I was fatigued and so worried I was going to have a heart attack or something. What a horrible experience. I am not taking it and will talk to an endocrinologist about other ways of healing my thyroid. This drug has awful side effects. Can't be good to have what I experienced.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 19 months ago (5/3/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have been on Synthroid for the past 8yrs and until about a year ago it worked great and my symptoms were managed very until about a year ago. I went to see my PCP who is a very good Doctor and she ran some lab work and increased my Synthroid from 0.125mcg to 0.175mcg and my symptoms worsened. I believe that my Doctor did what she felt was best for me, but in the end we have to take responsibility for our own healthcare. I researched a lot, and decided to see an endocrinologist, and that is where I really understood my diagnosis, and a few days after seeing him I received a call letting me know that my dose was too high and he was going to decrease it to 0.137mcg. We as human beings sometimes knowingly or unknowingly have lifestyles that cause our issues while others do everything that they can to prevent the symptoms. If you want a healthy life take responsibility for your healthcare, and if you have a specific problem see a specialist, document your symptoms, keep a log of when they normally occur. If you do not take anything away from this review please listen to your body, and if you are not happy with what you are being told then get a second opinion, but just because this me

Report
1 Stars
Posted 19 months ago (4/24/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

30 years of lethargy, constipation, depression, brain fog, body aches, and having to fight suicidal thoughts (almost failed to in 2002). 2012, I switched to natural desiccated thyroid; life is now worth living!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/17/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

Was on this "toxic" stuff for about a year.(stoped for a while then had another try. I went down hill very fast.palpitations,fast heartbeat.tremors,nausea,sleep,very low mood,agitated and more. I lost my job with the "depression"levothyroxin put me in. I decided to stop taking it,my doc said there's nothing else. I stoped 3 months ago,take vitamins and supplement,doing good.95% better off this toxic stuff.. Sorry but I cant take this horrid tablet, I wont take it and am willing to try alternative when available.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/16/2017)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

Since starting this medication I have has mild to severe heada and neck-aches EVERYDAY. Nausea, flu more often than ever. No energy, joint pain. Brain Fog, SEVERE ANXIETY and panic attacks (even now when driving). And an overall feeling of just not feeling good. Its really starting to depress me and I will NOT let this med ruin my life. Did not feel this bad before taking them now i'm considering trying more of a natural approach to finding out the cause of why my thyroid is outta whack instead of just "supposedly" masking the symptoms. So frustrated. And my Dr said there we NO side effects... HAAAAA :(

Report
3 Stars
Posted 26 months ago (9/23/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have been taking this drug for 18 months. I have consistently gained weight. I go to the gym and eat pretty healthy but the weight keeps creeping on me. I am now almost starving myself and taking a double dose (no side effects at all) because my doctor says that my numbers are near normal. I am tired of him only looking at the numbers and not my symptoms. He put me on the lowest dose he could because he stated I was only slightly hypothyroid. I was fighting sleep all the time even after 8 hours of sleep. I had no energy, was cold all the time and my skin was itchy and dry. So I will see how this goes with the double dose, very limited eating and exercising daily at weight loss. And find a new doctor that listens!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (9/1/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I've been on this medicine now for over a year, for the last several months I"ve been at 100 mg my blood test only show my tsh climbing higher and higher, my doctor only ups the dosage! This medication has done NOTHING to help me , I have also read on other medical sites that taking this medication in high doses for long periods of time is harmful. So I will be getting my blood tested again tomorrow when the results come in and show my levels are still extremely high (which I know they are I've suffered with Both Hypothyroidism and Hyperthyroidism since 2004 and I know when my levels are out of whack before my doctor does, actually I have to continually tell her!). But once it shows it is still high, I will be demanding her to change my medication to what I was on when I was 1st diagnosed, it at least got my levels to an acceptable level that wasn't under or over - wasn't perfect but I was 100000x's better, if she refuses to put me on Tapazole I will be finding a new doctor!

Report
3 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (8/27/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

At 25, I was diagnosed with hyperthyroid, my eyes protruded, I lost weight and took medication for about 4 years and my symptoms subsided. Except eyes protrusion I had no problems then, no enlarged thyroid etc. Three years ago, I was diagnosed hypothyroid and was prescribed 50 mcg Levothyroxine to begin with and after 4 months, 75 mcg for next 16 months and then to 100 mcg for about next 16 months. I gradually lost 15 lb over this 3 year period. Concerned, I think I took a wrong step. I myself decreased the dose to 75 mcg for last 8 months but I lost weight more rapidly and also lost hair. To begin with, my TSH was 21, T3- 74 and T4-3.9 in Nov '12. TSH gradually reduced to 1.225 in June 16, T4 gradually rose to 13.4 in May 2013, then gradually fell to 6.3 in May 14 and is 1.5 in June 16. T3 gradually rose and is 107 in June 16. Other than weight and hair loss I have had no problems. Has my medication been right until I reduced dosage myself? Will reducing further to 50 mcg help?

Report
4 Stars
Posted 28 months ago (8/4/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for GoiterReport

Had a nodule, surgeon wants to shrink it. 1-3 months took 25 mcg. 4 month started 50 mcg synthroid. A few palpitations once in awhile. No other side effects. Lost 10+lbs. Had no issues with fatigue/ or upset stomach. At 6 months surgeon wants blood test and ultrasound.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (6/18/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have been on Levothyroxine for hashimoto's and i've lost 5 pounds in 5 weeks... I feel 100% better and i'm only on 50MCG.... I think this drug is very effective however, with every drug you take there's always side effects.... my hair has been falling out a lot to the point where the thining of my hair is noticeable and i'm only 21 years old... before taking this drug just balance the pro's and con's.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (6/7/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

Tired, gaining 16 lbs in one month is not healthy and lose weight even though I force myself to jog walk 4 miles 2,x a week. Wasn't jogging much before levo. It's very frustrating when docs don't listen and you tell them you're having a problem

Report
5 Stars
Posted 30 months ago (6/1/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

I have been low-energy since I was a child but no doctor ever suggested anything. I finally got a doctor that said I was borderline low thyroid and prescribed .25 mg generic Synthroid. I felt better immediately, but my numbers started jumping around and that doctor finally just took me off Levothyroxine. Maybe a year later, I had a new doctor. She prescribed low-dose Levo again and I felt better, but my insurance situation changed and I had to get yet another doctor early this year. This doctor prescribed the same dose, but my new insurance only covers name-brand, which is admittedly weird. I could tell a difference right off. I felt even better and more consistently so. Synthroid makes me happier and more productive than I've ever been. For me, it's a case of night and day. I wouldn't want to live without it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 31 months ago (5/3/2016)

RatedLevothyroxine (Synthroid)for HypothyroidismReport

What a horrible drug. I almost died on this crap. I was having an allergic reaction to it for over a year but doctors said it was impossible. All info about this drug is misleading . It is in no way identical to the natural hormone our bodies make. The chemical structure or formula are different. Drug companies are getting away with false advertisement . I am on Armour thyroid and feel 500% better. I would not take this poison again at gun point. I'd let the disease consume me before ever taking it again.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Day 9 on Levothyroxine Medicine for Low Thyroid

Levothyroxine Reviews
Levothyroxine Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Levothyroxine Reviews pictures

Levothyroxine Reviews recommend
Levothyroxine Reviews recommend photo

Levothyroxine Reviews pictures
Levothyroxine Reviews foto

Levothyroxine Reviews Levothyroxine Reviews new pics
Levothyroxine Reviews new photo

picture Levothyroxine Reviews
pictures Levothyroxine Reviews

Watch Levothyroxine Reviews video
Watch Levothyroxine Reviews video

Forum on this topic: Levothyroxine Reviews, levothyroxine-reviews/
Forum on this topic: Levothyroxine Reviews, levothyroxine-reviews/ , levothyroxine-reviews/

Related News


10Popular Stereotypes About China That Couldn’t BeFurther From the Truth
Symptoms of a Gallbladder Problem
Top 10 Vitamin E-Based Face Creams Available In India
How to Kiss a Girl for the First Time
How to Make Cucumber Juice
9 Flat Shoe Alternatives for Brides Who Dont Like Heels
Cash In on Your Used Gadgets
9 Best Sleep Tracker Apps To Help You Get Adequate Sleep
Fun Fact: Gisele Has a Twin Sister, and Shes Stunning
How to Deposit a Check Online
How to Live with Autonomic Dysfunction
Now Playing: Sidharth Malhotra shows off the season’s best looks
How To Get More Flexible
Chakalaka Salad Recipe



Date: 12.12.2018, 13:16 / Views: 42363